U2 R.O.K.

U2 R.O.K. Front Sleeve

U2 R.O.K.
Front Sleeve

Release Date: 1981

CD Release Date: December 2, 1991

Highest Chart Position: UK: 35 USA: n/a

Liner Notes:

* Live From The Paradise Theatre Boston - Mass. USA March 1981.

Track List:

  1. Fire (3:50)
  2. Johnny Swallow (2:20)
  3. 11 O'Clock Tick Tock/The Ocean * (4:52)
  4. Cry/The Electric Co. * (2:14)


  • Austria:
    • CD: Island 664 972
  • Germany:
    • 12": Island 600 417
    • CD: Island 664 972
  • Netherlands:
    • 12": Island 600.417
  • Spain:
    • 12": Island F-600.417

Media Review:

Review: U2 R.O.K. (Fire)

3 stars (out of 5)

By JT Griffith, All Music Guide

Fire is the first single from U2's 1981 album October. This is the most common version because it is still in print in CD form. The Germany, Holland, and Austria pressings of the Fire single (7" vinyl, 12" vinyl, and CD) were called U2 R.O.K. and contain the studio tracks plus the live versions of "11 O'Clock Tick Tock" and "The Ocean." The German, etc., CD has four of the six live songs released to promote this song. Eight songs from the Paradise concert have been released on U2's singles: the aforementioned four from Fire, "Out of Control" from 1980's I Will Follow, "I Will Follow" from 1981's Gloria, and "Stories for Boys" and "Out of Control" from 1998's Sweetest Thing, Pt. 2. The double-disc version of Fire is essential to reconstruct this early concert. Fire charted as high as number seven in the U.K.

© AMG/Macrovision Corporation. All Rights Reserved.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Jonathan published on July 1, 1981 10:10 AM.

Fire was the previous entry in this blog.

Gloria is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.