Boy Front Sleeve

Front Sleeve | Purchase Album

Release Date: October 20, 1980

Highest Chart Position: UK: 52 USA: 63

Liner Notes:

The Edge: Guitar Player, Bono: Singer, Larry: Drummer, Adam Clayton: Bass Player.
Producer: Steve Lillywhite; Manager: Paul McGuinness; Engineer: Paul Thomas. Studio: Windmill Lane, Dublin. Agent Dublin: Dave Kavanagh, Road Runner. Agent London: Ian Wilson, Wasted Talent. Agent New York: Frank Barsalona, Premier Talent. Tour Manager: Tim Nicholson. Crew: John Kennedy, Pod, Amigo O'Herlihy. LP Mastered at the Sound Clinic by John Dent. U2 photographs: Ian Finlay. "Boy" photograph: Hugo McGuinness. Design: Bruno-Christian Tilley.

Track List:

  1. I Will Follow (3:36)
  2. Twilight (4:22)
  3. An Cat Dubh (6:21)
  4. Into The Heart (1:53)
  5. Out Of Control (4:13)
  6. Stories For Boys (3:02)
  7. The Ocean (1:34)
  8. A Day Without Me (3:14)
  9. Another Time, Another Place (4:34)
  10. The Electric Co. (4:48)
  11. Shadows And Tall Trees (4:36)


  • Australia: Island L37517, Island 842 296-4, Island / Festival D37517
  • Canada: Island CID110, Island, 7 90040-2
  • Germany: Island 202 913, Island 402 913, Island 610 561
  • Ireland: CBS 84658, CBS, 40-84658
  • Israel: Island BAN 129646
  • Japan: Island 20S-77, Island PHCR-4701
  • Sweden: Island ILPS 9646
  • UK: Island CID 110, Island IMCD211 / 842 296-2, Island ICT946, Island ILPS 9646
  • USA: Island ILPS 9646, Island 90040, Island 422-842 296-2

Media Review:

Review: Boy

4 stars (out of 5)

By Stephen Thomas Erlewine, All Music Guide

From the outset, U2 went for the big message -- every song on their debut album Boy sounds huge, with oceans of processed guitars cascading around Bono's impassioned wail. It was an inspired combination of large, stadium-rock beats and post-punk textures. Without the Edge's echoed, ringing guitar, U2 would have sounded like a traditional hard rock band, since the rhythm section and Bono treat each song as an anthem. Of course, that's the charm of Boy: all of its emotions are on the surface, delivered with optimistic, youthful self-belief, yet the unusual, distinctive guitar textures give it an unexpected tension that makes it an exhilarating debut. The songs may occasionally show some weakness -- the driving "I Will Follow," the dark "An Cat Dubh," and the shimmering "The Ocean" stand out among the sonic textures -- yet the band's musical and lyrical vision keep Boy compelling until the finish.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Jonathan published on October 20, 1980 9:10 AM.

I Will Follow was the previous entry in this blog.

Fire is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.